Home » Uncategorized » Reminders!

Reminders!

Like when I was a kid I still enjoy getting the mail.  Don’t ask, I wonder the same thing (why would an adult enjoy getting the mail when all that comes is junk and bills – good question which I have no answer).  I remember like it was yesterday waiting in anticipation for the mailman to drop off the mail.  My sister and I had a typical sibling rivalry – who could get there first.  That same rivalry comes up when I pick up the kids and get home from work.  They got the head start to the mail box but here comes Dad from behind – only to come to his senses at the last minute to let the kids win the mail box marathon.

Even though the mail box is typically filled with junk and bills every once and awhile something exciting shows up.  Like this week for example; this week my wife and I will have been married for eight years so our first card came in the mail from my mother.  That was exciting.  Then today, even though my wife beat me to the mail box (she had a pretty successful day – beating me to the mailbox and getting 3rd place at a local 5k), something else exciting showed up.  It is my Triathlete magazine.

Triathlete Magazine

I was reading it and very much enjoyed the article about Chris McCormack’s flash back to his roots.  He decided to participate in a couple of the local races but not as a professional but rather as the everyday athlete – he loved it.  I highly recommend the article.  Then I get to the end of the magazine where it had a short wetsuit review section.  It got me thinking about my wetsuit that has never been wet and is simply hanging in the closet.

Wetsuit

I really did not need this magazine to remind me of my wetless wetsuit hanging in the closet.  I see that reminder every evening as I am wrapping up the day.  Yes, it hangs there and taunts me like a deer fly buzzing by your ear causing you to swipe at nothing but air for hours as you attempt to enjoy a nice trail run.

These reminders are going to be there until I get this swimming thing figured out.  The subscription has about 8 months left and my wetsuit will be hanging there until I overcome my inability to swim.  So even though the reminders may frustrate me at times they also motivate me.  Someday I will be a triathlete.  Here is to June/July 2014.

Darn wetsuit!

 

One thought on “Reminders!

  1. Pingback: In Review! | What the Tri am I Doing?

Leave a comment